Rep. Doug Collins intervenes in Ga. family’s adoption crisis

on February 14 | in In Focus | by | with No Comments

Rep. Doug Collins is leading a bipartisan group of congressmen in an effort to help a Gainesville family whose adoption was abruptly ended by the Russian government.

On Monday, Collins signed off on a letter to Secretary of State Rex Tillerson asking for his help navigating a 2013 Russian law banning the adoption of Russian children to American parents. Because the foreign law did not grandfather in families who were already engaged in the adoption process, it meant that U.S. parents were suddenly cut off.

Many parents had already bonded with their intended adoptive children, including Mike and Pam Romano of Gainesville.

According to Congressman Collins’ office, the Romanos had already traveled to Russia and furnished a room in their Georgia home for two brothers, Bogdon and Yura, before learning they would not be allowed to bring them to the U.S.

“Loving parents in America have invested their love and personal resources in creating homes for Russian orphans, and we’re asking Secretary Tillerson to act on behalf of these families, who have waited years to be united with their children. It is our hope that both countries will find a way to act in favor of children who have suffered more than their share of loss,” said Collins.

Collins’ letter to Tillerson indicated that Russian officials have expressed openness to negotiations on the adoption issue.

Other Members of Congress who have signed this letter include Reps. Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.), Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.), Trent Franks (R-Ariz.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Kay Granger (R-Texas), Andy Harris, M.D. (R-Md.), Bill Huizenga (R-Mich.), Lynn Jenkins (R-Kan.), Trent Kelly (R-Miss.), Peter King (R-N.Y.), Steve King (R-Iowa), Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.), Brenda Lawrence (D-Mich.), Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Mo.), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N.Y.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Grace Meng (D-N.Y.), Paul Mitchell (R-Mich.), John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), Erik Paulsen (R-Minn.), Robert Pittenger (R-N.C.), Brad Schneider (D-Ill.), Tom Suozzi (D-N.Y.), Tim Walberg (R-Mich.), Jackie Walorski (R-Ind.), Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio), Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.), and David Young (R-Iowa).

Pin It

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

« »

Scroll to top